On a typical morning, I’m usually up before my hubby. I love getting something in the oven so he can wake up to the smell of breakfast. I whipped up these for him the other day. These muffins were amazing, probably my favorite healthy muffin recipe I’ve found yet. I’ll be making these over and over for sure. They’re already gone & I want more. Look…

Blueberry Bran Muffins

  • 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 T brown sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg white lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 2 T canola oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter 12 cup muffin tins, set aside. In large bowl, stir together flours, wheat bran, sugar, powder, soda, salt & ground cinnamon. In another bowl whisk, egg white, molasses, vanilla extract, oil and buttermilk. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, and stir until just combined. Gently fold in berries. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full and bake 18-20 minutes or until you know the drill. (toothpick comes out clean) Cool on wire rack before serving.

*If you don’t have buttermilk on hand, try plain yogurt. The acid in the yogurt is similar to the acid in buttermilk, giving the same results. I used yogurt this time. If you don’t have buttermilk or plain yogurt you can use the little tip I shared with you the other day*

*I sprinkled some raw sugar on top for a little crunch*

Images: sammyw

