When Isaac and I got married 3 years ago, I knew we were different, but I could have never predicted how different we really are all these years later. It’s amazing what marriage does.

dsc_0026-2

I mean there are the obvious thing, he’d rather get a root canal than do laundry (I happen to love laundry), he considers smoking a cigar one of the most relaxing things (I cannot stand the smell, and am at a constant thought of ‘cancer stick!, cancer stick!’).

dsc_0028-1

Another striking difference between us two lovebirds is he gags at the thought of raw tomatoes (literally my friends, there’s a story behind that). I happen to love fresh tomatoes, roasted tomatoes, any kind of tomato. An ultra ripe juicy tomato sprinkled with a little salt & pepper, doesn’t get much better than that. I happen to love tomato soup and by definition it’s pretty obvious that Isaac would hate it. Well yep he does. I’ve tried a couple different tomato soup recipes in my day and haven’t found one that meets my standards. Until now…

dsc_0034-1

I made this with a group of friends last week and it was a big hit. Most tomato soup recipes I’ve come across have either milk or cream which I think masks the tomato flavor to much. This recipe does the trick, with the combination of roasted tomatoes and canned tomatoes, the huge amounts of fresh basil, onions & garlic.

dsc_0031-1

Now there are many things Isaac & I are on the same page about. Two words. Grilled cheese.

Now yes my husband and I are quite different, but I assure you we go together like tomato soup goes with grilled cheese sandwiches…perfectly.

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup
recipe from Barefoot Contessa

  • 3 pounds plum tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 t black pepper
  • 2 cups chopped yellow onions
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • 1/4 t crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 (28-ounce) canned plum tomatoes, with their juice
  • 4 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
  • 1 t fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 quart chicken broth

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Toss together the tomatoes, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread the tomatoes in 1 layer on a baking sheet and roast for 45 minutes. In a large stockpot over medium heat, saute the onions and garlic with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, the butter, and red pepper flakes for 10 minutes, until the onions start to brown. Add the canned tomatoes, basil, thyme, and chicken stock. Add the oven-roasted tomatoes, including the liquid on the baking sheet. Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for 40 minutes. Pulse a couple times in a blender. Taste for seasonings. Serve up with piping hot grilled cheese sandwiches.

dsc_0002

Images: sammyw

