I love a good deal. My mom has taught me well. If you’re looking for me, look at the clearance racks, the ends of the aisles at Target, you will find my nose in the weekly Safeway ad, or Goodwill, garage sales,  TJ Maxx, or Marshall’s. You name it. If a good deal is to be found, I’m on the hunt. Lately, I’ve discovered amazing bargains at Costco. Yes, Costco land of the 100 dollar minimum (I secretly think that’s what they are looking for when they are scanning your receipts as you leave!). Anyhoo, did you know you can buy 4 pounds of brown sugar for around $3.50, or mound of fresh organic spinach for a mere $3.50. Don’t even get me started on the fresh wild pacific cod for $6.99 a pound.

Lately my favorite deal has to be the 3 pounds of bananas for $1.32. A crazy .44 a pound for all you by the pound shoppers. Here in Seattle that is a total steal. Now a buck 32 is pretty darn cheap, but 3 pounds of bananas for a small family of two is a little much. We’ll eat one for breakfast, one the next day as a snack, blend one here and there in a smoothie, but still 3 pounds is hard to use up before long they start to get freckles, soft and skin becomes papery thin. A little past their prime.

And so in the spirit of turning lemons into lemonade, I bring you banana muffins.

Wheat Germ & Banana Muffins
Recipe From: Epicurious

  • 1 1/2 cup unbleached flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 3/4 cup toasted wheat germ
  • 1 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 3)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400. Sift first 4 ingredients into medium bowl. Mix in wheat germ. Combine bananas, milk, eggs, oil and vanilla extract in large bowl and whisk to blend. Mix in dry ingredients. Spoon batter into prepared, greased muffin tins, dividing equally. Bake muffins until tops are golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 20-25 minutes.

Images: sammyw

