My favorite food in the entire world is Mexican food. I make it pretty often at my house, something about the bold flavors, freshness, relaxed type presentation, the avocado, it’s all good! These chicken fajitas have become a staple I return to again & again…

Marinating *love*

Chicken Fajitas

  • 3 bell peppers (I use green, orange & red), cut into stripes
  • 1 red onion, cut into stripes
  • a couple boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced into stripes (I used 3)
  • flour tortillas

Chicken marinade:

  • 3 T. freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 3 T chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 t ground cumin
  • 1/4 t coriander
  • 1/4 t black pepper

Begin by combining the marinade ingredients in a large plastic bag. Add the chicken stripes and marinade for a couple hours. (I usually do 3-4 hours) Grill chicken breasts on grill until no longer pink. Set aside. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Place a little olive oil in pan & cook peppers & red onion until slightly softened. *I like a little crunch in the peppers & the onion to be a little sweeter, so I cook the peppers alone for a couple minutes before adding the onion* Last, add the chicken to the peppers & serve with tortillas and your favorite toppings, here’s a couple of mine:

  • sour cream
  • homemade guacamole (post to come!)
  • shredded colby jack cheese
  • fresh lime juice
  • sliced black olives

Mmmm, so so good!

Images: sammyw

