Brussels sprouts are an acquired taste I guess. Growing up I always remember my dad getting super excited when my mom would prepare these for dinner and I despised them; I mean they made broccoli seem like dessert. It’s strange how your taste buds change since now I buy them every chance I get (meaning, whenever they’re on sale) Even better, I’ve got Isaac hooked too! This is by far my favorite way to eat them…

Caramelized Brussels sprouts

  • 12 Brussels spouts
  • kosher salt
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • pepper

Wash Brussels sprouts. Trim the stem ends and remove any bruised outer leaves. Cut in half. Heat olive oil in pan over medium heat. Place the Brussels sprouts in the pan flat side down, sprinkle with a couple pinches of salt and pepper, cover, and cook for about 5 minutes. Once just tender, uncover, turn up the heat, and cook until the flat sides are deep brown and caramelized. Use a spatula to toss them once or twice to get some browning on the rounded side. Enjoy them, they’re little treasures…

*dinner*

Images: sammyw

