When I have a banana or two that are beginning to turn brown, I love using it to make a smoothie. When a banana turns brown the sugar content is much higher than a plain yellow banana, since the starch is being converted into sugar. So I love that I don’t have to sweeten my smoothie, but the banana acts as a natural sweeter. I like to add bananas too since it gives it a thicker richer texture, almost like a milkshake…almost. Also adding frozen berries is a great way to get that cold slushy texture without watering down the smoothie with ice. When I eat drink a smoothie for breakfast, I usually try have a piece of toast with peanut butter for some protein. Here’s a couple more things I add to this yummy breakfast:

Mixed Berry Banana Smoothie

  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries (I use raspberries, blueberries and marionberries)
  • 3-4 T plain yogurt
  • 1 brown banana
  • 3/4 cup or so of orange juice

Put all in blender, mix until smooth.

Images: sammyw

