I’d have to say that a definite hobby of mine is searching the web for new recipes. I always love finding something new that I’ve never heard of or a new ingredient or technique. But most of all I love making the everyday things that we most take for granted; the food items that we just assume our grocery store makes. Like this, these, this and these. As I strive to rid our kitchen of all things processed my search began for a homemade tortilla recipe (check out the ingredients of a grocery store tortilla, over 25 ingredients half of which I’ve never even heard of). I stumbled upon this one from Rick Bayless, an awesome chef specializing in all things Mexican. If you get a chance catch his show on PBS, do watch, his passion for cooking and for the people of Mexico is infectious. Anyways back to the food…

Homemade Flour Tortillas

  • 2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup shortening (non-hydrogenated, here’s what I used)
  • 2/3 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl cut shortening into flour. Next dissolve salt in warm water in separate cup. After that add gradually to flour mixture. Mix until dough begins to form. Turn onto floured surface and knead about 3 minutes. Divide ball evenly into 8 smaller balls. Cover balls with plastic wrap and rest at least 30 min to 1 hour. Heat pan over medium heat. On floured surface, roll out ball until about 8 inches or so in diameter. Grill in dry pan, maybe about 1-2 minutes on each side. (it will begin to bubble & turn brown) Flip and continue cooking on other side until browned. They are truly delicious and super super simple. I don’t think I’ll ever buy tortillas from the store again! We ate these for dinner with some guacamole salad (recipe to come), beans & a little hot sauce, so good!

*I’ve made this recipe twice now, once with white flour and once with whole wheat flour, and the whole wheat were so yummy, definitely making these whole wheat from now on!*

Images: sammyw

