Search for homemade marinara sauces online and you’ll be overwhelmed, trust me I was. Recipes vary as much as the stock market. I wanted a sauce that wasn’t too sweet, something with a slight kick, but nothing that was to overpowering. After searching for what seemed like hours online I pulled this recipe out of my box my mom had given me a while back. A major success! This sauce is hearty enough just with the veggies, but feel free to add meat if you wish. I prefer a light sauce and this one did just the trick. The crunch of the red pepper, the sweetness of the basil and the bold flavor of the red wine make this sauce a favorite of mine. It was so simple to put together, maybe took 30 minutes start to finish. This sauce does make a large batch, so feel free to jar it up or freeze half of it for later. No matter what do give it a try it’s a keeper in my book.

Marinara Sauce

  • 7 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 t red pepper flakes (more or less to taste)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • A couple springs of fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 large can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 large can tomato puree
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 cup your favorite red wine

In large pot, saute onion and garlic until fragrant. Add red pepper, mushrooms and salt/pepper to taste. Remove veggies and pour in 1/2 cup red wine to deglaze the pan. Return veggies to pan and continue to cook. Add crushed tomatoes, tomato puree and tomato paste, the rest of red wine, basil and sugar. Cover and stir occasionally cooking over low heat until ready to serve.

Shower your dish with freshly grated Parmesan cheese to make it *extra* happy!

A quick blog note, I’ve created a new page ‘recipe index’. That way it’ll be simple to search for previous recipes.. now I just have to remember to keep it updated :)

Images: sammyw

