I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately on whole foods, trying desperately to cut out any and all processed foods from our diet. I’ve gotten pretty good at all the snacks, chips, crackers, tortillas, etc. But the thing that’s the hardest for me to rid my kitchen of is processed white flour and refined sugar. It’s so hard for me because I love to bake so so much. Thankfully there are so many healthy (and tastier) recipes out there using whole grains. I was so excited when I stumbled upon this recipe, these were super good, and although there is refined sugar, next time I make these I’m gonna try honey. These were plenty sweet enough, plus the dried cranberries also were some natural added sweetness.

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Bran Muffins with Dried Cranberries

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup wheat bran
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Oil or paper 12 muffin cups.

In a medium bowl mix together pumpkin, eggs, yogurt and vanilla extract. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine the flour, bran, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined. (over mixing will result in tough muffins). Gently fold in dried cranberries. Scoop into muffin tins and bake 18-20 minutes until golden brown.

*I sprinkled raw sugar on top too*

Images: sammyw

