I am in love with the ease and taste of fresh green beans – they are so simple! I found this recipe in a Barefoot Contessa cookbook I have and find myself making it over and over. Isaac just loves these too, it’s his side dish of choice…

Green Beans with Shallots

  • 1 pound green beans, ends removed
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon good olive oil
  • 3 large shallots, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Blanch the beans in a large pot of boiling salted water for about 5 minutes, until slightly tender; drain immediately and put beans in a bowl of ice water. (to stop cooking process)

Heat the oil in a pan and saute the shallots on medium heat for 5 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Drain the string beans and add to the shallots with 1/2 teaspoon salt and the pepper, tossing well. Heat only until the beans are hot.

That’s it, you’ll love them, so much so it may replace the predictable green bean casserole at this years Thanksgiving table, I know that’s what happened to me last year…

Images: sammyw

