It’s strange, but I’ve noticed a trend of muffins on this blog – not intentional at all I must admit. I do have to admit though I am much more comfortable with muffins than say quick bread. Bread is so much harder for me to figure out the cooking time, the doneness factor, I feel much safer with a little muffin, I feel I have total control. Another reason for all the muffin love is I love baking in the morning. I love the smell of baked glory lingering throughout the house all day, it’s a homey feeling & since I haven’t been working recently I have had much more time on my hands in the mornings. So without further a due a muffin recipe…

Ok so does this recipe sound like a strange combo? It did to me, but I’ve been seeing it done all over online and was really curious. The last straw for me was Martha had it featured on her website, so I just had to try. The end result? Well let’s just say I won’t be mixing blueberries, bananas & cornmeal together again any time soon. It wasn’t bad by any means, but the texture of the muffins was light, crumby, due to the cornmeal. I prefer a breadier muffin myself. I think I’ll stick to cornmeal for cornbread… oooo I have a good recipe for that & chili-ok recipes to come!

brown and speckley…

Blueberry Banana Cornmeal Muffins

  • oil
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 t flour
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 3)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk or plain yogurt
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T fresh lemon juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 1/2 t raw sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray muffin tins with oil. Whisk together cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and 1 cup flour. In a large bowl, stir together bananas, buttermilk or yogurt, honey, lemon juice, egg, and vanilla. Fold cornmeal mixture into banana mixture. Toss blueberries with remaining 2 teaspoons flour, and gently fold into batter. Spoon batter into prepared tin, filling to the brims. Sprinkle each muffin with sugar. Bake until toothpick comes out clean, about 10-15 minutes.

Images: sammyw

