Since it’s been a while since I’ve baked anything, and due to the fact that we ran out of milk for our cereal, I made these for breakfast this past week. Plus I really wanted to break in my new mini muffin tin that I found at Linens N Things. This muffin tin is such a cute size, perfect for snacking. And with a yummy recipe like this, trust me I was snacking a lot on these babies throughout the day…

dsc_0045-1

raw…

dsc_0053-1

baked…

dsc_0098-2

chillin’ out…

dsc_0075

Sour Cream Bran Muffins
Gourmet magazine

1 stick butter, softened
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 egg, beaten lightly
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup dark molasses
1/2 cup raisins
1 cup flour
1 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 cup wheat bran

*raw sugar, for sprinkling on top*

Preheat oven 400. In a large bowl with cream together the butter and the brown sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy, beat in the egg, the sour cream, the molasses, and stir in the raisins. Next whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and the bran, to the sour cream mixture, and stir the batter until it is just combined. (The batter will be lumpy.) Spoon the batter into muffin tins, sprinkle with raw sugar and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until they are golden brown and springy to the touch. Turn the muffins out onto a rack and let them cool.

first bite of *many*

dsc_0085

images: sammyw

