I have *so* many memories with these cookies. We usually just made these around Christmas growing up, but since my dad loves them so much, we’d be known to decorate these cookies for Easter, Halloween & Valentines Day. The recipe is quite simple but takes time to roll & cut each cookie. My dear mother would make a bunch of the cookies, and let us kids go to town frosting them. It is such a special memory for me & am super excited to pass the tradition on to my kiddies one day. This cookie tradition would mot be complete without the plain o’ powdered sugar/water frosting… my daddy’s favorite!

Isaac & I recently flew back home for a wedding & I had to make a batch of these for my darling daddy as a surprise. It feels like Christmas now, the cookies have been made…

dsc_0008

Rolled Cookies
family recipe

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cream together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until smooth & fluffy. Next add dry ingredients until fully combined. Cover dough & chill in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Once dough is cold & slightly hardened, flour a work surface, roll out dough and cut into shapes. Bake on parchment paper for about 6-8 minutes. Cool on wire rack completely before frosting.

dsc_0019

dsc_0024

ready to be baked…

dsc_0017

cooled…

dsc_0044

dsc_0050

Daddy’s Favorite Frosting

  • powdered sugar
  • water
  • food coloring

Mix powdered sugar & water together until a paste forms. It can be any consistency, but the thicker it is the better it tastes! Add a couple drops of food coloring to make it look pretty! Allow frosted cookies to dry on wax paper until completely dry, or else they will stick together…trust me I know!

trees…

dsc_0058

snowflakes & stars…

dsc_0059

mittens…

dsc_0061

dsc_0065

Images: sammyw

