A couple of months ago I bought a bag of chocolate chips from Costco. No new venture for me, I’ve been buying them there for as long as I can remember. They are so much cheaper to buy in bulk, never go bad & have so many uses. My usual Costco sold them in a 5lb bag that would last me a long long time. Well now my Costco doesn’t sell the 5lb bag anymore, no my friends it’s now a 10lb bag! Being the cheap skate I am I bought the dang things. When I got home I discovered I literally don’t have a cupboard large enough to hold this gigantic bag of chocolate chips, so they are store in my fridge! All this to say when I see a recipe using chocolate chips I go for it!

dsc_0021

Double Chocolate Cinnamon Wedges
Adapted from The Weekend Baker

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a pie plate, set aside. In a large bowl sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, cinnamon, salt, & baking powder. Stir in chocolate chips. Next add in canola oil and eggs and mix until just combined. Spread batter into pie plate and bake for about 20 minutes. I like mine a little gooey so I baked it for about 17. Allow to fully cool before slicing into 8 wedges. The cinnamon adds an interesting twist to an otherwise prediciatbly brownie like goodie!

dsc_0019-1

images: sammyw

