Last year I never made corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick’s Day. I don’ remember what we did or where we were. Anyways, I made it this year & man is this a yummy meal; and not to mention super simple.

dsc_0006

My mom, grandma & aunt have made this meal every year for as long as I can remember. It truely reminds me of home & I am so proud to make it for my family to pass along the tradition along with the rest of America!

dsc_0001-1

dsc_0008

I know it’s a good meal, when my husband asks during dinner, “Can we eat this every year”…yes darling we can…

Corned beef & cabbage
recipe adapted from mom

  • 1 corned beef
  • 1 medium onion, quartered
  • 1 pound carrots, peeled, trimmed
  • 1 medium head cabbage, cut into 8 wedges
  • 1 pound small red potatoes
  • Dijon mustard, for serving

Place corned beef in a large pot. Add enough water to cover by 2 inches. Add onion and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer until very tender, 3 to 3 1/2 hours. Transfer corned beef to a cutting board. Tent with foil, and let rest for 30 minutes. Discard remaining solids from broth, then bring to a boil. Add cabbage and potatoes, carrots and simmer until tender, about 25 minutes. Serve with grainy mustard and broth.

dsc_0036-1

Images: sammyw

