Hello out there! I am sad to report I have not stepped foot in here for what seems like eons. You all already know this, due to the constant reoccurring vegetable wrap post, which I myself am getting a little tired of looking at.

A lot has happened in the past couple of months. A job change for Isaac, a move out of state (hello California!) and grieving the loss of our pregnancy. So many emotions have occurred in my heart lately, I find it hard to keep them all straight. The praise of a wonderful job for my husband, the sadness of it being in another state, the joy of finding out the Lord has entrusted a child to us, the mourning that it is only to be for 12 weeks. Through it all, there is comfort knowing my Creator loves our baby more than we ever could and He knows what is best for him/her. All I can do is praise the one who knows what is best all the time for his children.

And so we welcome a new chapter, here in San Francisco, California.

Our new kitchen which I am *in love* with, will be the new home of sammyw. A home which wonderful memories will be made, yummy smelling things will be found coming from that oven. And I’m happy each of you are coming.

And before I forget, I have a little something for you. Something you have to try at your home. A recipe that is so close to the Nordstrom Cafe’s Lime & Cilantro Salad it’s scary.

Don’t go by the picture, which I quickly snapped today at lunch before I devoured it all. The dressing is amazingly wonderful. The leftovers would make a wonderful marinade for chicken breasts. You’ll have to let me know what you think.

Lime & Cilantro Chicken Salad
Adapted from The Nordstrom Cookbook

The Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons garlic,minced
  • 1 tablespoon chipotle purée
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 big bunch cilantro,chopped
  • 3/4 cup canola oil

Salad Contents:

  • Romaine lettuce, chopped
  • Baby spinach
  • Roasted red peppers, diced
  • Avocado, cubed
  • Roma tomato, diced
  • Roasted corn
  • Toasted pumpkin seeds
  • Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • Grilled chicken breast, sliced
  • Black beans

In a blender, combine lime juice, rice wine vinegar, garlic, purée, honey, salt and cilantro. Blend together well. Then slowly add the oil to the blender as it is blending until it is fully emulsified. Refrigerate until you are ready to serve. In a huge bowl combine the lettuces, roasted peppers, corn, tomatoes, avocado, cheese, seeds, beans and chicken. Whisk well before tossing with the salad.

Images: sammyw

