The month of August for me is officially no white flour or white sugar month. So far I am on day 16 with only a couple slip ups while vacationing with family on Coronado Island last week. This goal is a personal challenge to force myself to research, experiment and broaden my knowledge and use of alternative sweeteners and flours.

I know that white flour and sugar will always produce a killer chocolate chip cookie, but if I forbid myself from having them I will (because of the sweet tooth that lives in me) find a way to still satisfy that craving. So on the hunt I went for alternatives.

I might add my husband is very supportive of my challenge, but continues to remind me it’s a personal challenge, so sugar & flour he gets, while I experimented with these this week.

And while these are not the ooey gooey buttery chocolate chip cookies my husband is chowing down on, these are a close second. I have to give them credit, they taste like a chocolate chip cookie, a well done impostor I’d say. Pair with ice cold milk and chocolate-chip-cookie-craving is officially defeated.

Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookies
recipe adapted from whole family fare

  • 8 oz raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 t sea salt
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 T pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour the almonds in the bowl of a food processor. Process for a couple minutes, until it resembles a course meal. Remove from bowl and mix with remaining ingredients. Shape dough into balls about an inch in diameter. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Images: sammyw

