Dear inventor of the dishwasher,

I don’t know how to say this but, um, frankly I love you. As I type with my shriveled up raisin-y fingers I am forever grateful to you. You see our dishwasher decided to die on us a couple weeks ago and since I have been on dish duty. Now like I told you, I have been cooking and baking up a storm here in this kitchen, but friends once your dishwasher suddenly goes all stage left on you, your cooking and baking spree suddenly dissipates.

No more are the carefree days of whipping up a tasty concoction, then to nicely pack it all away in little cubbies and slats to be washed. No, the days of pulling your prized dish out of the oven only to be left with a sink full of scraped out mixing bowls and measuring cups. If anything were to take the twinkle out of cooking for me, this would be it.

And so my once fiercely fast cooking, has turned into an all afternoon ordeal. Thankfully this madness will only last a little longer, while we await the new part to arrive in the mail. But until then, I am washing and drying the ol’ fashioned way.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese
Recipe from The Food Network

  • 2 cups elbow macaroni
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 2-1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar
  • 1 cup bread crumbs (make your own, toast up some bread, pulse in the food processor and ta-da: breadcrumbs!)
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan

Preheat the oven to 350. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the macaroni and cook, stirring occasionally until it is almost tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Drain, rinse with cold water, and set aside. In a large bowl, beat the eggs with the milk, 1/4 cup melted butter, the cayenne pepper, and a teaspoon of salt. Put half the macaroni into a buttered 2-quart casserole and top with half the cheddar cheese. Repeat. Pour the milk mixture over the macaroni and cheese. In a small bowl, mix the bread crumbs with the paprika, the remaining butter, and the Parmesan. Sprinkle the bread crumb mixture over the macaroni and bake until brown and bubbly, 40 to 45 minutes. Serve warm.

