Conversation over the weekend with my husband went something like this…

Him: Are you planning on making that apple cake recipe you’ve been talking about?

Me: Eh, I could but think of all the dishes…

Him: I’ll wash the dishes if you are still up for making it?

Me: Deal.

And so this weekend, I made apple cake all the while my husband slaved over a big sink and suds. To be honest this cake couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. The crisp cool feeling of fall has arrived here in San Francisco. I pondered if I would feel it, since, well San Francisco always has a chill. But friends it has come.

As we awoke this morning, I could feel it yet again. The cool breeze coming through our window as we ducked for cover in our sheets. I may or may not have had a slice of this cake for breakfast this morning just to seal the deal that Fall is officially here.

This cake is a simple one bowl cake, it takes no time at all and before you know it your house will smell of warm apples and cinnamon. Serve this with some cinnamon spiked whipped cream or even vanilla ice cream.

Apple Cake
recipe adapted from A Chow Life

  • 2  1/2 cups diced peeled Granny Smith Apples
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted, cooled
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter 8x8x2-inch round baking pan. Mix diced apples, sugar, butter and egg in large bowl to blend. Sift flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt over. If using, add chopped walnuts; mix thoroughly. Transfer mixture to prepared pan. Bake until cake is brown and crusty on top and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 25-35 minutes. Cool cake in pan on rack.

Images: sammyw

