I get really excited about the holidays. I love pulling out my box full of orange, brown and gold for fall and Thanksgiving. I could get easily carried away. I allow myself one box of ‘seasonal decor’ and one box of ‘Christmas decor’. If I don’t give myself limits, the after holiday Target 75% off clearance will do me in every time. Our little apartment with two closets would be choked full of decorations, but I just love it all. The smells, the way the house feels fuller from now until the end of the year and of course the baking.

There is a reason why squirrels and chipmunks get a little chunkier around this time of the year, I think the same can be said for us as well. The warmth of home, the reasons to stay indoors and snuggle up with your hunny and some apple crisp, the lazy long cool mornings full of big hearty breakfasts and even bigger cups of coffee.

This is my first (of many I hope!) pumpkin recipes of the season. I am so predictable, I always start with pumpkin bread. Although the recipe is new and will definitely be coming back in my baking que again and again.

I love the addition of olive oil in the bread, it creates this uber moist almost dense but light bread. We’ve been eating slice after slice with a big ol’ schmear of cream cheese morning and morning.

Olive Oil Pumpkin Bread
Recipe adapted from: A Chow Life

  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup lightly flavored olive oil (not extra virgin, just olive oil)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 cups pureed pumpkin
  • 2 cups sugar (original recipe called for 3 (!) cups, next time I would even go down to 1 1/2)
  • 3 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • 1 t freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 t ground cloves
  • 2 t baking soda

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease loaf pans with olive oil. In a large mixing bowl, lightly beat the eggs. Add the olive oil, water, pumpkin and sugar. Whisk with a fork to combine thoroughly. Add flour  with the salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, and baking soda into the mixing bowl. Stir into the wet ingredients until just combined. Divide into prepared loaf pans, nudging batter into corners. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until a cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 10 minutes before removing from pan to cool completely. The bread will keep at room temperature for more than a week if tightly wrapped in plastic. Makes 2 regular sized loaves. It would be wonderful to make in mini loaf pans and pass around to your neighbors, spreading Fall cheer to all :)

Images: sammyw

