I’ve been trying to walk a few miles during the week, which is usually an easy feat for me when the weather is sunny, warm and nice. We don’t have many warm or hot days here in the city. There is usually a breeze of some kind and sometimes fog. So when the weather is warm, I am out walking around Golden Gate Park for hours. Soaking up the sun, sitting on the park benches and people watching or reading.

This week has been beautifully warm, so warm in fact that I was craving a cold drink. I blended up this smoothie one day after a long day at the park and it was cool, creamy and sweet.

Banana Berry Flax Smoothie
Recipe by me

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup frozen berries (I used blueberries, raspberries & blackberries)
  • 3 T yogurt (I used vanilla bean)
  • 1 T ground flax seed
  • 1/4-1/2 cup juice (I used cherry)

In a blender whip up all ingredients until smooth and creamy. May need to add more juice or water if the consistency is to thick.

Images: sammyw

