We’ve been getting so. much. rain. this week. Trees have begun to fall over in Golden Gate Park because the ground is so soggy. Although all this rain makes for a pretty green view outside our family room window.

In other news, a sweet friend of mine passed along this recipe for homemade Lara Bars. I’ve been searching for a recipe for quite some time now, in hopes of making these for cheap in my own kitchen.

Before you attempt this in your kitchen, I think a food processor is a must for this recipe. I have no idea how you would do it otherwise. Isaac bought me our food processor last Christmas and I have used it countless times. Last year I was trying to decide if a Kitchenaid mixer or food processor would make more sense for the kind of cooking I do and in the end I decided on the food processor and I am so glad I did. I make salsas, pie dough, pizza dough, grind oats for oat flour, grate bulk cheeses, shred carrots, chop nuts, etc. If you do more cooking than baking I would say go for the food processor. I have this one and love it to the moon and back.

Homemade Cherry Pie Lara Bars
Recipe from Enlightened Cooking

  • 1/2 cup chopped dates (roughly chopped whole dates)
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 2/3 cup whole pecans, almonds or walnuts (I used almonds)
  • 1/4 t cinnamon

Makes 4 bars. Set out four pieces of plastic wrap for shaping and wrapping the bars. Pour chopped dates and cherries in a food processor. Pulse until processed to a paste and the whole mixture forms a ball together in the food processor. Scrape out into a bowl, set aside. Add the nuts to the processor and pulse until very finely chopped. Add the nuts, along with the cinnamon to the bowl with the fruit paste. Use your fingers to knead the nuts into the paste until fully combined. Divide mixture in four equal parts. Place onto plastic wrap and shape into bars using your fingers. Tightly wrap the plastic around each bar and store in a large container in the refrigerator.

I made a several cherry pie bars and some apple pie bars as well. Take a look at LaraBar’s website for inspiration on what new flavors to make, they list the ingredients right on the website, so just adjust the nuts/fruit depending on which bar you are making. The measurements above will stay the same, but for example the apple pie I used:

Apple Pie Lara Bars

  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 1/2 cup dried apples
  • a small handful of raisins
  • 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 1/3 cup almonds
  • 1/4 t cinnamon

You will be amazed at how wonderful these work and taste. They probably cost .30 cents a bar to make as opposed to paying $1.30 per bar at the store!

Images: sammyw

