Around Thanksgiving, I bought fresh cranberries with the dream of making my own cranberry sauce. My hubby did not share in my dream and was instead dreaming of a certain cylinder shaped cranberry gelatin like mixture to grace our Thanksgiving table. Needless to say I had a whole bag of beautiful cranberries to use up! Oh the possibilities, cranberry scones, cranberry bark, cranberry cookies, cranberry butter… I could go on and on. Anyway since I wanted something relatively healthy & simple ingredients I landed on this bread recipe. It is a nice change having this for breakfast instead of cereal. My hubby said it the citrus went well with his morning coffee…

dsc_0121

dsc_0101

dsc_0119

Whole Wheat Cranberry Bread
recipe from www.folkmann.ca

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 ½ cup sugar
  • 2 ¼ t baking powder
  • 1 ½ t salt
  • ¾ t baking soda
  • ¾ cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ t grated orange peel
  • 1 ⅛ cup orange juice
  • 3 cups fresh cranberries, chopped

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda into large bowl. In a separate bowl cut butter and sugar together until the mixture is crumbly. Then add to the other dry ingredients and mix together. Next, add eggs, orange peel, and orange juice all at once; stir just until mixture is evenly moist. Fold in berries and spoon mixture into greased bread pans. Bake for about 40-50 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

dsc_0125

dsc_0138

dsc_0156

Images: sammyw